R.I.P.

Standard

Osama Bin Laden is dead, I’m sure you’ve heard. I could not help to write because I am severely disappointed with the response to this news. The response is not one of hope or of love, but one of hate. My heart broke as I read the responses of my generation as the news takes over facebook statuses, and probably twitter. Many replied with asserting that justice has been served along with a big helping of American pride. Perhaps some people will sleep better at night knowing that this “mad-man” is no longer a threat but I predict that America’s response to Mr. Bin Laden’s death is a threat to ourselves and to the world.

We ought to offer condolences and peace to those who feel like they have lost something. Swallow our pride and make room for peace. There will not be peace when we respond to hate with hate… nothing will change. Perhaps it is justice by some definitions of the term, if we seek justice that demands “and eye for an eye.” However, if it is compassion and peace that we seek, a door to it has just been slammed in our faces not by Mr. Bin Laden’s death but by our own response to it.

I cannot condone his death nor his life, so this is not a judgement against those individuals or groups that caused it.

Nor do I write this in offense to those who have suffered in any way as a result of Mr. Bin Laden’s actions. This as a call to reconciliation and forgiveness as an opportunity for such has been presented to us. We know the power of social media, let it be used for peace.

Rest in Peace, Mr. Bin Laden.

About Elizabeth Grace

It's a blooming life... I am a first year PhD student studying Religion, Ethics, and Society with a heavy focus on ethics. I love to cook and my life-loves, which are religion, cooking, ecology, and people, have led me to revere all life and the sacred ground that enables it. Gardening helps me to explore the relationship of my life to the soil and the food that I eat. I'm not really a new vegetarian, but I am beginning to dabble in the vegan life. So, like a said, it's a blooming life...

Leave a comment